ARCHIVE Note this is an archived page. Information here relates to the 2014 festival and may not be relevant to the upcoming festival.

Subtitle European Film Festival, Kilkenny

European Film Festival, Kilkenny.
24–30 November 2014

The third annual


European Film Festival, Kilkenny. 24–30 November 2014

You are here: Home » Festival Programme » Events » The Angela Awards

The Angela Awards

20:00 Sun 30 Nov 2014 Set Theatre €25 Buy Tickets

  • Subtitle Angela's Pilou Asbaek-2
  • 40
  • Pauline McLynn hosting The ANGELAS European Film Awards at SUBTITLE Festival Kilkenny

The third Angela Awards were hosted by actress and author, Pauline McLynn, in The Set Theatre, Langtons on Sunday 30th November. The Angela’s acknowledges the achievements of talent from across Europe and the presentations were made by well known actors, writers and directors from the Irish film industry, including Aisling Franciosi, Sean McGinley, Barry Ward, Phil Burke and Jim Sheridan. Live music was provided by The Camembert Quartet.


Marcin Dorocinski (Poland)
Angela Award for outstanding achievement, Acting.

Laia Costa (Spain)
The Spotlight Breakthrough Award, Acting

Panu Aaltio (Finland)
European Breakthrough Award, Composition

Yuri Kolokolnikov (Russia)
The Spotlight Breakthrough Award, Acting

Dennis Ivanov and Marina Shukh (Ukraine)
Angela Award: Creative Development, Odessa Film Festival / Arthouse Traffic.

Ellen Dorrit Petersen (Norway)
Outstanding Performance, BLIND

Slimane Dazi (France)
Outstanding Performance, RENGAINE

Gijs Scholten Van Aschat (The Netherlands)
Angela Award for outstanding achievement, Acting.

Carice van Houten (The Netherlands)
Angela Award for outstanding achievement, Acting.

Richard Sammel (Germany)
Angela Award for outstanding achievement, Acting.

Simone Bär (Germany), Casting Director
The Angela Lifetime Achievement Award, Casting.

Kim Bodnia (Denmark)
Angela Award for outstanding achievement, Acting.

2013 Awards

Photos from the 2013 Angela Awards (click to browse)

Backstage Award Pics-32
Backstage Award Pics-20
Backstage Award Pics-42
Backstage Award Pics-23
Backstage Award Pics-8
Backstage Award Pics-6
Subtitle Angela's Agnieszka Grochowska-5
Subtitle Angela's Aksel Hennie-2
Pre Show Nick-12
Pre Show Nick-11
Backstage Award Pics-29

The awards are named after the late Angela Cook, an avid film fan and supporter of the Arts.

2012 & 2013 Angela Award Winners:

Nikolaj Coster Waldau (Denmark, Actor)-Jasper Pääkkönen (Finland, Actor)-Frans Bak (Denmark, Composer)-Sacha Polak (Netherlands, Director)-Vlad Ivanov (Romania, Actor)-Jakob Oftebro (Norway, Actor)-Mikael Persbrandt (Sweden, Actor)-Lena Endre (Sweden, Actor)-Aku Louhimies (Finland, Director)-Jeanette Klintberg (Sweden, Casting Director)-Dome Karukoski (Finland, Director)-Nina Bjerch Andresen (Norway, Designer)-Magnus Martens (Norway, Director)-Antoinette Beumer (Netherlands, Director)-George Pistereanu (Romania, Actor); Simon Staho (Denmark, Director)-Robert de Hoog (Netherlands, Actor)-Jakub Gierszał (Poland, Actor)-Avy Kaufman (USA, Casting Director)-Danila Kozlovsky (Russia, Actor)-Hannah Hoekstra (Netherlands, Actor)-Laura Birn (Finland, Actor)-Peter Franzén (Finland, Actor)-Antonio De La Torre (Spain, Actor)-Pilou Asbæk (Denmark, Actor)-Askel Hennie (Norway, Actor)-Marija Pikic (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Actor)-Jessica Grabowsky (Finland Actor)-Agnieszka Grochowska (Poland, Actor)-Marwan Kenzari (Netherlands, Actor)-PerErik ‘Perry’ Eriksen (Norway, Editor)

Keep updated – Join the mailing List

Subscribe to the SUBTITLE email list and receive latest news and updates.

Email Format